Non-Fiction for a change!

Has it really been so long since I’ve read anything non-fiction? That’s a little scary. It’s fortunate then that Bethany House sent me my first non-fiction title for review, “Behind the Veils of Yemen” by Audra Grace Shelby. It took a little while to get into this book, though I can’t put my finger on why. Perhaps its that Audra has the doubts and fears that any sane American mom would have when considering moving the family to Yemen, but, we have no sense of her past and calling…its just suddenly here’s this family, this mom, going to Yemen, and she’s sure its the right thing to do, but she gives the reader no background on who she is, her experiences, her testimony, or the walk with God that brought her to this place. Other than that, Shelby’s “Behind the Veils of Yemen” challenged and encouraged me. I truly admire and am inspired by the sacrifice that families make in overseas missions, particularly in countries so very culturally foreign to the United States. Shelby’s testimony of living faith- through her husband’s sudden and mysterious illness, her feelings of shortcoming as a missionary, her daughter’s health issues, and her unexpected and difficult fourth pregnancy, all served to challenge me to have greater faith in my own walk with God. Audra Shelby and her family’s perseverance in ministry, despite the many difficulties inherent to embracing an utterly different lifestyle, language, and culture, encouraged me in my own ministry and certainly provoked me to greater intercession for those who are now trying to bring the light of the Gospel to Muslim countries. Shelby’s story also shed light on the great need for more prayer, more support, and more workers in the Middle East. I would recommend this book without hesitation to anyone who seeks a greater understanding of the challenges of overseas missions, or the veil of oppression and darkness that covers Middle Eastern women.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

