Miracles are for Real

I admit it, I was skeptical. There lurked within me the suspicion that this would be another one of those books that not only claimed miracles were real (something I agree with), but would then let you in on the “secret” of how you could get your very own miracle (something I would be predisposed to disagree with).
The surprising reality was the discovery that this is not only an inspiring book detailing numerous miracles, both modern and historical, but a thoughtful and balanced one as well. Authors James Garlow and Keith Wall qualified the conditions of a “true” miracle, and discussed other things like “complex answers to prayer” or intriguing “coincidences” that may indeed be supernatural in origin but are not necessarily miraculous in nature. I appreciated the historical overview of a number of miracles recorded since the time of Christ, and I was relieved when the authors did not attempt to persuade readers that they were somehow missing something in their walk with Christ if they had not experienced a miracle. Indeed, James Garlow’s personal testimony of his wife’s battle with cancer lent legitimacy and sincerity to the book, and underscored the authors’ intent; go to God with big expectations knowing that He is able to do anything, and knowing that He delights in our faith. We must be willing to accept that ultimately God knows and does what is best, but this shouldn’t stop us from asking, in fact, it should encourage the Christian to think bigger and pray more. I’ll conclude with what the authors claim is the most significant thing you’ll read in “Miracles are for Real”, as I found myself agreeing wholeheartedly – “Unbelief tends to release the power of the evil one, whereas faith in God releases the power of his Spirit.”

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

