A good book to take on vacation to the rainy, Oregon Coast

“Song of My Heart” by Kim Vogel Sawyer is the second novel I’ve read by this author.  My previous impression of her work was that she is talented at developing setting and plot, but characterization can be a bit weak.  My opinion has definitely improved.  “Song of My Heart” features a young woman named Sadie who leaves her family for a job that will provide for them, as well as give her the opportunity to pursue her dream of singing.  Sadie is young, naïve, good-hearted, and- like many readers- finds herself in faith challenging situations: trust God and stand firm on convictions, or “compromise” one’s beliefs for the sake of the cause- whether that’s providing for one’s family, making ends meet, or attaining one’s goals.  The moral dilemma presented by Sawyer fits the historical setting of this novel (i.e., Prohibition), but the lesson is a timeless one.   Of course, historical fiction “teaches” with a strong dose of romance, and here is where I felt that Sawyer’s style had improved.  In one of her earlier books (A Whisper of Peace) her heroines were well-rounded, believable characters, but the leading male was flat and weakly developed.  In “Song of My Heart” this is, happily, not the case.  Thad, the town sheriff, though a bit too perfect, is likable and knowable- the reader can appreciate the attraction between Thad and Sadie.  Furthermore, the introduction of Sid, Sadie’s not-exactly-cousin, and his long-time infatuation with Sadie, (yes, the names in this book could have been a little more creative) lends some good drama to this laid-back, frontierAmericanovel.

I read this book on vacation and it was a great, leisurely read.  Sure, I could put it down- this isn’t one of those truly spectacular books you stay up all night reading- but as soon as I had a bit of down time, I eagerly resumed the story.  If you’re like me and you enjoy taking a break from a regular routine of heavy non-fiction by kicking back with historical Christian fiction every once in awhile, then you’ll like this book.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

