Submerged, by Dani Pettrey

Submerged, by Dani Pettrey, is unique Christian fiction.  The rugged Alaskan setting is well-portrayed, and the mystery and suspense is realistic and engaging.  I generally don’t summarize the plot of a book in my reviews, as I assume you’ve already read about it.  What you want to know is if this book is worth your time and money.  I give it a thumbs-up for being great, contemporary, Christian fiction.  Bailey, the main character, is believable and real- in that many of us know what its like to be constantly judged by our past, and hopefully many of us have experienced the freedom that comes with understanding God’s grace and forgiveness.  Cole, the “hero” if you will, is perhaps a little too good to be true, but I think we generally expect that with romantic fiction.  The weakest aspect of this book is not so much predictable characterization, but too many characters to keep track of.  I found myself having to stop and think, “who is this person?” a number of times.  On the plus side, this is the first book in a series, but Pettrey did an outstanding job of bringing closure to this particular aspect of the series.  The reader can see where the next book will go, and you’re going to want to read it, but, you’re not going to be left hanging with the feeling that the whole point of this book was just to get you to buy the next one.  When trying to decide between 4 stars or 5, I ask myself, “was it hard to put down?”; Submerged gets 5 stars from me for being so engaging that I really didn’t want to stop reading until I turned the last page.  Enjoy!

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 

One thought on “Submerged, by Dani Pettrey

  1. Pingback: Great Christian suspense: “Silenced” (Book #4 of the Alaskan Courage Series) | joyclynn

Leave a Reply

