Spirit Wars- not for the faint of heart

If nothing else, “Spirit Wars” by Kris Vallotton will get you thinking, praying, and examining your perceptions about sin, the spiritual world, and spiritual warfare.  I enjoy reading books that challenge me to really consider what I believe- and I’ll say that much for “Spirit Wars” – it created a lot of points of deep, engaging discussion for my husband and I.  Depending on your theological standing you may find yourself adamantly agreeing with much of what Vallotton claims – or vehemently at odds.  Issues such as Valotton’s claim that Christians no longer have a sin nature (43), that principalities that rule over places are based in people (182), or his assertion that Christians who have been diagnosed with bi-polar disorder may actually just be incredibly discerning of the spiritual world (175) might get a hearty amen out of you…or they may cause some gnashing of the teeth – hard to say.  But claims like these will get you thinking- guaranteed- and hopefully searching the Bible, talking with others, and really examining what you believe about how much the spiritual world influences you and how much you should be influencing it.  A considerable portion of this book deals with the author’s personal experience of depression and anxiety and how he relates these to the spiritual realm.  Those who share that struggle (or live with someone who does) may find a lot of encouragement in these pages…alternatively, they might find themselves more anxious and confused – particularly if they don’t take to well to the idea that Christians can be “demonized” or oppressed by evil spirits.

While I found myself raising my eyebrows every now and then, I’ll still concede that overall, I gained a lot from this book.  Vallotton made same excellent points about the tactics of the enemy, the difference between “captives” and “prisoners” when it comes to spiritual oppression, about unforgiveness being a root cause of much oppression in people’s lives, as well as the importance of truly knowing and experiencing God’s love.  I would recommend this book to mature Christians who want to be challenged in their understanding of spiritual warfare, and who are comfortable with re-examining whatever doctrinal presumptions they hold to.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

One thought on “Spirit Wars- not for the faint of heart

Leave a Reply

