You Can’t Go Wrong With Kristen Heitzmann

I am a huge fan of Kristen Heitzmann and I have managed to completely lose myself in every book of hers that I’ve read so far- including Breath of Dawn. In some respects this is the third novel in a series (A Rush of Wings and The Still of Night), however the story is complete in itself and if you haven’t read the previous two books (I hadn’t) you’ll discover that there’s background that you’re missing but it will not detract from your enjoyment or appreciation of the story, it does stand alone. (But prepare yourself – you will want the other two books!) Breath of Dawn is great entertainment; the characters are dynamic and interesting, the plot is creative and suspenseful, and the romance is pretty intense for a Christian novel. Its a story you are guaranteed to get so caught up in, you’ll have a hard time putting the book down. I loved it, but I want to write a helpful and fair review, so I will concede that there are some aspects of this novel that a critical reader may fault. First among these is the perfection of Morgan Spencer, one of the primary characters. Many critics say a perfect character is boring or simply annoying. I’d say its a matter of opinion and portrayal, but there’s no question that Morgan is depicted as exceedingly handsome, incredibly rich and powerful, and an ideal – (if overly-doting) father to his two-year old daughter (who also happens to be a perfect character, and one that I did find annoying, as my experience with two-year olds seems to have left me jaded). Morgan is, perhaps, the ultimate man from a woman’s perspective; his insights and judgments are always correct, he is emotionally intuitive, he’s strong, decisive and powerful. If a perfect male character bothers you, be warned. If, on the other hand, you enjoy a clean flight of fantasy, you won’t be disappointed. The other aspect of Breath of Dawn that is open to criticism is that the plot extends beyond realism, making this book a romance in a truly literary sense, as it is imaginative and fantastical more often than it is real or universally applicable. For instance, money is never an obstacle for Morgan, Quinn, or the other ‘good’ characters in the story. Jetting off to Europe, buying a house or two outright, designer clothes at every turn…sounds nice, but not like the life of anyone I know. Furthermore, while Morgan is so grieved over his deceased wife that he is firmly closed to the idea of starting a new relationship, he doesn’t hesitate for a moment in proposing a radical and binding solution to Quinn- a virtual stranger- when he learns that she needs help. If you are a reader that is only satisfied with gritty realism, I have no doubt you’re going to find fault with Breath of Dawn. As for me, every once in awhile I want nothing more than an escape to an imaginary world where there’s intrigue and suspense, sensational romance, the fun of imagining what incredible wealth would be like, a world where the guy is perfect (and therefore perfectly unrealistic), and where love overcomes every obstacle in the end. Perhaps that truly does make me a hopeless romantic. If you are one as well, then take this book for what it is- well-written, climactic, extremely entertaining- and enjoy!
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

