Review of “Shattered” the 2nd book in the Alaskan Adventure Series

“Shattered”, Dani Pettrey’s second book in the Alaskan Courage series, has a lot going for it. This is a well-thought out mystery with fast moving action, witty dialogue, and a believe-able enough plot that included crime, romance, and faith. Overall, I really enjoyed the book – I had to put it down to go about life, but I eagerly came back to it as soon as I had time to read. So with that positive spin in your mind, consider a few of the faults I found.
First of all, even though I recently read “Submerged”-the first book in the series- it was a struggle keeping up with who’s who in “Shattered”. There are a lot of characters (this was true of Submerged as well), and these characters are detrimentally short on description and background history. I had no way to visualize anyone- aside from some generic feature like Landon being really buff, or Darcy being blonde. For a second book in a series I think that some kind of brief review of who the characters are, what they do, what they look like, etc., is generally expected. True, no one wants a redundant book…but giving the reader a little reminder has got to be better than nothing at all. Along those lines, much of the back-story that forms the main characters is only ever eluded to, making it really difficult to conceptualize who the characters are and what has shaped them; as a result, it’s hard to follow their individual stories, or to connect with them in any way. Its not often that I feel like I need to re-read the first book in a series to make sense of who the people are in the second one, and to be honest, I don’t want to have to.
Despite those flaws, “Shattered” was an enjoyable book, and it invites the third book without leaving you hanging. If you read “Submerged”, you’ll enjoy this one, and you’ll look forward to Dani Pettrey’s next one too. I just hope to see better character development and description, as well as a general overview of the key characters in book three.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

One thought on “Review of “Shattered” the 2nd book in the Alaskan Adventure Series

  1. Pingback: Great Christian suspense: “Silenced” (Book #4 of the Alaskan Courage Series) | joyclynn

Leave a Reply

