Sweet Reading – “Unrivaled” by Siri Mitchell

“Unrivaled” was a treat- pardon the pun- with its unique plot developed around…candy.  It’s true that I could feel a cavity coming on just reading all the descriptions of candy making and candy eating that the various characters did, but it certainly did lend distinctiveness to this novel’s plot.  I have always been impressed by Siri Mitchell’s books- particularly her ability to develop real characters that act true-to-life.  To some extent “Unrivaled” met this expectation; for instance, her characters were driven more by emotion than reason from time-to-time, and each had realistic flaws.  But, I was a little disappointed that the characters in “Unrivaled” weren’t as dynamic or relatable as I anticipated.  Lucy was portrayed as a young woman who could be spiteful, bossy and mean, but somehow she never really felt truly flawed to me, maybe because everyone generally liked her anyway.  Other significant characters that felt either flat or unrealistic were Lucy’s mother, father, and fiancée.  Charlie was, by far, the most well-developed character and one that the reader could relate to.  On a final note of critique, “Unrivaled” bordered a little more on predictability than other books I’ve read by Ms. Mitchell, and the dialogue and plot occasionally felt rushed.  I don’t want to be too heavy-handed in this review though, because I truly enjoyed the book and I believe you would as well.  Ms. Mitchell does an excellent job of conveying a redemptive message in a very natural way and I love the great humor that comes through.  “Unrivaled” was a pleasure to read and I look forward to Siri Mitchell’s next book, whatever it may be.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publisher.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

3 thoughts on “Sweet Reading – “Unrivaled” by Siri Mitchell

Leave a Reply

