Over Before it Really Begins

Dee Henderson’s latest addition to the O’Malley series is a departure from the adventurous, mildly suspenseful plots that O’Malley fans are accustomed to.  The title, “Jennifer: An O’Malley Love Story”, says it all in my opinion.  This is a very brief, gently moving romance that feels like it ends before it has really begun.  I was enjoying the book, though I thought it did lack intensity, until I looked at the page progress on my Kindle and realized I’d read 90% of the story.  That’s when I felt disappointed; just when it became interesting it was over.  Additionally, the scope of this book is very narrow; unlike other O’Malley books, which bring in numerous O’Malley characters and a well-developed plot, “Jennifer” revolves exclusively around Jennifer and her romantic interest, Tom.  Despite the fact that these are the only prominent characters, and the entire story centers on their developing relationship, I didn’t feel that there was a lot of actual character or plot development. For instance, I could never really picture Jennifer, and it only ever felt that I was reading ‘about’ her and Tom, rather than somehow becoming involved in their story – the way one does in a truly great book.  On a positive note, I did appreciate Ms. Henderson’s method of introducing the Gospel and the spiritual progression of the story.  I really enjoy her books and I certainly plan to read the next one.  I would just say, reader beware: this isn’t the O’Malley story you’ve come to expect.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Bethany House Publishers.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

