Challenging and Convicting: “Stopping Words that Hurt”

WARNING: This book contains a large dose of conviction.

Its just so easy to share someone else’s business, to ask someone to ‘pray’ as a guise for dishing the latest gossip, and to speak critically about others to those you are closest to.

With an energetic, fast-paced tone, author Michael Sedler demonstrates that people are “brainwashed into believing that it is permissible to violate one another verbally”, he emphasizes the lasting impact that negative conversations can have on both the speaker and the listener, and he lays out a Biblical method for changing one’s thought and speech patterns.  Taken as a whole, “Stopping Words that Hurt” addresses an issue within our society, and the church in particular, that needs to be confronted head-on.  Sedler’s message is challenging, convicting, and- if taken to heart- transformational.

Taken on a chapter-by-chapter basis, you’ll find that along with great teaching the author tends to throw out random bits of advice, which results in several chapters that are a hodge-podge of ideas rather than a cohesive and structured unit of thought. This lack of unity is further augmented by an arbitrary transition of thoughts from one paragraph to another.  There were also several occasions when it felt that there was a quite a stretching of Scripture, or a large dose of speculation at any rate, when it came to proving a point the author wanted to make.  But as I glance through my notes and highlights, I find that overall, “Stopping Words that Hurt” made a tremendous impact in my life.  I discovered in myself areas that desperately needed examination, repentance, and change.  I am certainly far more aware and thoughtful in my conversations with others, and have been able to recognize when a conversation is veering into dangerous territory and extricate myself from it.  I’ve also totally blown it too…but conviction seems to come a lot more readily now.  If you’re ready to tackle the thing that probably gives you the most grief in life (i.e, the words you say and the conversations you engage in), this book is for you.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Chosen Books.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

