Struggling with doubt, fear, and mistrust of God? This book is for you.

I don’t struggle much with worry or anxiety, but, I love someone who occasionally does, which is why I decided to read “The Sure Cure for Worry”.  My thought was that I’d pick up some new insights that my spouse and I could add to our growing understanding of anxiety and how to overcome it.  This was not the outcome- I actually struggled to finish the book at all- but it’s because my expectation didn’t line up with the author’s intention.  “The Sure Cure for Worry” is intended to help Christians grow in their faith, plain and simple.  This book is for those who find themselves constantly questioning God’s power, His plan, His wisdom, and His involvement in their lives.  It is not written for those who struggle with anxiety despite their absolute, tried and true trust in God’s power, plan, and wisdom- and there’s a big difference between the two.

This book features two distinct parts: part one (roughly the first third of the book) is very, VERY basic, covering rudimentary principles of Christianity such as God’s sovereignty, guidance, the veracity of the Bible, and God’s wisdom and foreknowledge. There’s nothing wrong with this at all- its good and necessary knowledge, its well-written, and entirely suited to the intent of the book: to equip and encourage Christians who haven’t learned to trust God through experiencing His faithfulness, or those who aren’t very familiar with Scripture.  Just be clear that this section of the book is intended for someone new to Christianity, someone struggling with their faith, or someone very skeptical about it in general. For the mature Christian, particularly one who is well-versed in Scripture, “The Sure Cure for Worry” is going to be challenging to read because it won’t offer anything new.  I found myself skimming over quite a bit because it felt elementary and very simplistic in tone and language, and there were a few pretty big theological issues that the author just glossed over.

Part two is not much different in tone from part one; in fact, it becomes evangelistic with a direct appeal to the reader to give his life to Christ and a sinner’s prayer.  I certainly didn’t feel like I was the target audience of this book; however, I actually enjoyed the second part of the book more because of the topics it covered, like identifying where our thoughts come from and how we are influenced, how God can use dreams, and how we can learn to trust in the sense of peace-or the lack thereof- that God gives us as we follow Him.

“The Sure Cure for Worry” wasn’t for me, but it is a book that could speak powerfully to someone who struggles with a lack of faith or who simply lacks a good understanding of who God is and how He can be trusted.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Chosen Books.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

