Review of Dee Henderson’s Latest book: “Unspoken”

“Unspoken” is an unusual book, layered with multiple plots that unfold without hurry.  There’s a lot going on in this story from a cold case revived, to the mysterious past of the main character, Charlotte, to the developing relationship between Charlotte and Bryce Bishop, a successful rare coin businessman and devout Christian.  The leisurely pace of this novel allows these plots to develop and unfold naturally, although I will say that the first section just narrowly avoids becoming dull with the unveiling of one treasure trove of rare coins upon another.  Fortunately, just when I thought I couldn’t handle the discovery of yet another batch of priceless coins, the plot turned and my interest was piqued yet again.

You should be aware that “Unspoken” is a stand-alone book; however, I think you’d get the most out of your reading if you picked up a copy of Dee Henderson’s “Full Disclosure” first, as it introduces a number of the characters in “Unspoken” and would give some good background.  I have not read “Full Disclosure” (though I certainly plan to now), and there were definitely times I felt like I was supposed to know the characters and some of the back-story better than I did.

“Unspoken” has its share of over-the-top moments (mainly involving preposterous amounts of money), but for the most part it’s a well-told story that manages to feel mellow and dramatic at the same time.  In addition to the threads of tragedy,

wealth, and personal healing, the plot also explores the problem of how a loving and good God can allow evil to happen to innocent people, and the seeming injustice of God’s willingness to forgive those who commit horrendous crimes; that dilemma of His impartiality towards sin and His incomprehensible ability to love both the perpetrator and the victim.  Ultimately, this is what I appreciate most about Dee Henderson as an author- her ability to bring spiritual depth to contemporary fiction.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Bethany House Publishers.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 

One thought on “Review of Dee Henderson’s Latest book: “Unspoken”

  1. Thanks for your review! I am really looking forward to buying and reading this book. Henderson is one of my favourite authors, mainly because of the O’Malleys. And I love it how some of them are included in this series.

Leave a Reply

