Blessings for the Evening

Blessings for the Evening

“Blessings ­­­for the Evening” is a beautiful devotional book.  The scripture and prayer for each evening is contemplative and relaxing; and author Susie Larson effectively leads you to set aside the stresses of the day and focus on the Lord and His goodness.  You almost can’t help breathing deeper and feeling calmer as you meditate on the daily verse and make the prayer your own.  The photography accompanying each entry is stunning and contributes to the soothing and inspiring effect of the book.  My only regret is that I received this book as a Kindle download.  It was too large for my Kindle to support (because of the photographs) and I had to read it on the computer through Adobe.  This is a book you want to hold with your hands and reflect on each evening.  It would be a great purchase for someone (like myself) who struggles with an overly-active mind at night and who wants to practice calming their mind and focusing on the Lord. I think this book would also be a very useful tool for memorizing comforting and encouraging scriptures- the ones you will find in “Blessings for the Evening” are short but powerful.  I wouldn’t normally seek out a short devotional like this, but I’ve come to the conclusion that I’ve been missing something; I’ve needed to slow down and take time to reflect more.  This book has really helped me to do that.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Baker Publishing Group.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

