Review of “Finding Your Heart’s Desire” by R.T. Kendall

R.T. Kendall, former pastor of Westminster Chapel in London, is a prolific author whose writing draws deeply from his life experiences.  His style is academic yet easy-to-read, and while he has a tendency to wander from his topic, his rabbit trails are interesting and thought provoking- and they usually lead back to theme.  That’s perhaps one reason I enjoy his writing so much; I discover a lot of incidental wisdom and insights along with the central themes.  “Finding Your Heart’s Desire” is based to some extent on R.T. Kendall’s personal experience and struggle with ambition.  His goal in writing is to see his readers become “ambitious for more of God” and to this end he encourages us to contend for our faith, making the pursuit of God’s approval the most important thing in our life.  Kendall claims that ambition in itself is neither virtue nor vice- it is the focus and desired outcome of our ambition that is.   One of the most interesting points he makes is that God “stoops” to the level of our self-interest to stir up godly ambition within us.  Kendall also really presses the theme of future judgment and reward for our works (or lack of) and the need to live a life of faith in pursuit of eternal reward and a heavenly inheritance.  He challenges the idea that it’s enough “just to go to heaven”, calling that a short-sighted attitude that will be deeply regretted when we one day stand before the Lord and give an account of our life.  It’s a reality that most of us probably don’t think much about, but we should.  Though he has a penchant for rambling and occasionally failing to connect his ideas, I’d still have to say that every time I read one of R.T. Kendall’s books I’m convicted and challenged at some very core level of my faith.  That’s why I would say I love this book: it makes you think and it causes you to examine your life and look at areas you may not otherwise. “Finding Your Heart’s Desire” is not necessarily the most well-written in terms of style, but the content more than makes up for it. R.T. Kendall is an author I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.He’s an author I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.  I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Chosen Books.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

2 thoughts on “Review of “Finding Your Heart’s Desire” by R.T. Kendall

Leave a Reply

