“The Key to the Middle East: Discovering the Future of Israel in Biblical Prophecy”

Cover Art

The latest revision of “The Key to the Middle East: Discovering the Future of Israel in Biblical Prophecy” by Derek Prince is a short, easy-to-read look at numerous Biblical prophecies which have been- or remain to be- fulfilled in modern times.  Mr. Prince writes from his first hand observations living in the Palestine at the end of WWII and during the tumultuous years leading up to, and following the emergence of Israel as a new nation.  His experiences lend a great weight of authority to his interpretation of Scripture, as does the obvious wisdom and humility that permeates his writing.  Mr. Prince lived long and saw much, and his careful study of the Bible and events in the Middle East over the past 60 years reflects this. 

I am a student of International Relations and in graduate school I focused on the Middle East, and Israel in particular.   So yes, I’m immediately attracted to a book like this, as I seek to add to my understanding of the crucial role that Israel has played throughout the history of the world, and will increasingly play in the times to come.  But one needn’t be a scholar to enjoy this book.  The writing style is casual- almost conversational- rather than academic, though the study of prophetic Scriptures is thorough and well organized.

I was especially impressed with Mr. Prince’s ability to provoke questions in my mind and leave me hanging for awhile, and then answer those questions later.  One very clear example was his allusion in Chapter 8 to the judgment of the nations.  I felt he left so much unsaid, and I scribbled down a number of questions, only to find in Chapter 9 that the entire chapter was devoted to that topic. 

I also appreciated very much Mr. Prince’s practical exhortation on how one should respond to this book and what he has taught. 

Finally, I loved the chronology of Israel’s modern history at the end of the book; it was very helpful for keeping events in proper order.

I think that the Western Church probably misses it more often than not when it comes to understanding the role of Israel and the people of Israel in God’s plan.  “The Key to the Middle East” would be a great place to start if you’re ready to expand your personal understanding, and I’d encourage you to.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Chosen Books.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 

Leave a Reply

