Seven Secrets to Power Praying by Jane Glenchur

I did not expect to love this book or to find it engaging, challenging and transformational- but it was all of those things. For no apparent reason my sights were set too low- I simply expected to learn to pray more powerfully and effectively…and I thought the learning would be tedious. If that’s also your presupposition when it comes to books on prayer, then perhaps you’ve finally found the right book as well.

One of the best things about this book is that author Jane Glenchur is incredibly real, personable, and slightly crazy- and I mean crazy in the best possible way- passionate and sold-out in her faith. She relates her seven secrets of power praying through numerous stories that reveal the depth of her faith and an indefatigable commitment to seeking God in every situation. Her writing is organized, practical, encouraging and amiable. I spent a lot of time highlighting, taking notes, and discussing with others what I learned throughout this book, but I’ll mention just a few of the great insights I picked up. These include: giving God permission to change our heart about something, learning to take down the “logic” filter that sets limits on our prayers and how we expect God to answer them (if that doesn’t sound very appealing to you, think of it this way, “Lean not on your own understanding…”) and how to listen with anticipation and expectation.

The first day I tried to “power pray” through every decision or situation, I found that it was absolutely exhausting. This kind of prayer takes practice and in a lot of ways it’s like a work out- its something you’ve got to build up to. However, after several days I realized it wasn’t so tiring and that it was getting easier to think to myself, “I’ll pray about this and wait to hear from God before I make a decision” or something along those lines.

“Seven Secrets to Power Praying” is sure to bring out the skepticism of some readers- yes, the author prays about things like which stain remover to buy and seeks God’s direction for many things that most of us would just decide on instantly without thinking twice- let alone asking God about first. But I was challenged and sometimes convicted by this, because while it initially appears silly to seek God about really small things, it became apparent to me that what Jane Glenchur does is attempt to truly honor God in every single thing, great or small. And that’s not silly- its admirable.
Ultimately, this book is incredibly challenging: if we want greater faith we’ve got to start believing God for the ‘little’ things we don’t even think to consult Him about and that will equip us to step out in faith and believe God for the impossible.
I would recommend this book to anyone and I know I’ll be referring back to it often.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Chosen Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

