Great Christian suspense: “Silenced” (Book #4 of the Alaskan Courage Series)

This is a series that just keeps growing on me; in fact, I will now come out and call myself a fan of the Alaskan Courage books by Dani Pettrey.  (This is a big step because after book #3 I described my status as being in a love-hate relationship with this series). 

First a brief recap: I liked “Submerged” (book #1) and called it “unique Christian fiction”, but my main critique was the difficulty keeping track of the vast number of characters.  “Shattered” (book #2) was witty and fast-moving, but the numerous characters lacked back-story, making them difficult to connect with.  “Stranded” (book #3) was much better.  Author Dani Pettrey finally cut down on the cast of characters, relegating most of them to the background and focusing on a particular couple.  The plot was fantastic and made up for weak character development. 

That brings us to “Silenced” (book #4), where finally all the elements of a great book come together (give or take a little).  One thing Ms. Pettrey has always gotten right is suspense, adventure, romance and a well-developed plot.  “Silenced” is true-to-form; it delivers a great mystery with a real twist…you won’t want to put this book down.  The background characters (that is, the assorted siblings and their significant others) don’t clutter up the storyline, while the main characters are pretty well-developed and believable.  In part this is because by this point in the series you’ve gotten to know the characters already, but it’s also because Ms. Pettrey fleshes them out better than usual.

I have only two points of criticism: first, I was disappointed with the climax, which was hurried and anti-climatic. The plot was sinister, suspenseful and enticingly drawn out, but the peak of the action ended before it really began.  Second, the twist in the story left the first mystery seemingly unresolved.  I was actually surprised when nothing more was ever said about it, kind of like, “oh, you mean that really was all there was to it?”

Aside from that, I really enjoyed this book, and I’m definitely looking forward to an intense, action-packed finale with book #5, because this series just keeps getting better and better.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Bethany House Publishers.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 Review of Stranded:

https://joyclynn.wordpress.com/2013/08/30/stranded-by-dani-pettrey-nancy-drew-for-adults/

 Review of Shattered:

https://joyclynn.wordpress.com/2013/02/22/review-of-shattered-the-2nd-book-in-the-alaskan-adventure-series/

Review of Submerged:

https://joyclynn.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/submerged-by-dani-pettrey/

      

Leave a Reply

