Start Living the Life You Were Meant to Live: Review of “What Life Are You Waiting For?”

Product Details

Ever get that feeling that you’re life is just on pause…you’re waiting for something but you don’t know what?  Or maybe you feel a nagging restlessness- a sense of discontentment with where you’re at in life- but you don’t know why or what to do about it.  In “What Life Are You Waiting For?” author Pete Hise’s succinct, fast-paced tone and occasional sport analogies give cohesion to a theme that is a call to action, change, and adventure.  Although this book feels as if it would resonate most deeply with a male audience, there’s a depth of wisdom and spiritual acumen here for readers (of any gender) from any walk of life.  I enjoyed the format (which features a recap and practical actions to take at the end of each chapter) and I found some great insights within these pages.  For instance, I’m definitely one of those people who feels an occasional bout of restlessness and who suffers from “the grass is greener somewhere else” syndrome.  So when I read Pete Hise’s assertion that discontentment springs from a misplaced source of value, it really hit home for me.  I can now identify that my “I need a change of…(fill in the blank)” urges are often a result of feeling a loss of value in an area where I shouldn’t even be basing my sense of value.  This revelation has been pivotal for me and it made this book completely worth it.

Perhaps this is an area where God wants to open your eyes as well, or maybe its one of the other topics that Hise addresses, such as the need to say “Yes!” to God, the importance and necessity of forgiveness, living on “the grace path” as opposed to “the self-made path”, or understanding the love of God.  Pete Hise’s success in identifying different areas where we all get stalled or held back in living for God the way we want is what makes this book so widely relevant.  If you know you want more in life, but you’re not quite sure what more is supposed to look like or how you’re supposed to live it, “What Life Are You Waiting For?” will give you biblical direction and practical encouragement in living the life that God has for.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Tyndale House Publishers.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

