Everything You Ever Wondered About Heaven

Cover Art

I was impressed with the readability of “50 Things You Need to Know About Heaven”   and its appeal to a broad audience: the curious non-Christian, the new Christian, and those who desire to expand their current understanding of what the Bible says about heaven. This book offers a succinct but thorough examination of this topic as Dr. John Hart offers simple, straightforward explanations of basic Christian doctrines like salvation, justification and imputed righteousness and then moves on to answer many common questions (and some not so common) that people ask about heaven.  For instance, where do we go the moment we die? What is the “new heaven and new earth?” What does the Bible mean when it talks about people who have died as “sleeping.”  What will our bodies be like in heaven? Will heaven be boring?  Do people in heaven know what’s happening on earth?

Overall, Dr. Hart sticks to interpretation and explanation of Scripture; however, he does make a few speculative assumptions here and there, such as his claim that in heaven there will be new instruments, new musical sounds, and limitless things to discover and learn.  I happen to agree with him- I’m only noting his departure from strict exegesis.

You may or may not agree with all Dr. Hart’s scriptural interpretations in this book; if you don’t, that’s great- you’ll find yourself challenged to study and re-examine your own views.  On the other hand, you may find that you learn something new, or discover greater depth about what is admittedly a mysterious subject.  I felt that I gained a lot from this book as I contemplated a number of topics I’d never given much thought to before and I’d recommend this book to others as a great starting place for a topical study about heaven.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Bethany House Publishers.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 

Leave a Reply

