“Captured by Love” by Jody Hedlund: Strong on romance and historicity (and yes, that is a word!)

Product Details

This historical romance deserves just about every cliché accolade you would ascribe to a good book of its genre.  The romance is about as intense as Christian story-telling is going to get, and the historical overview of life on Mackinac Island during the War of 1812 is fascinating.   I appreciated the author’s dedication to historicity, as it gave the plot a good sense of depth and realism.  Pierre and Angelique, the main characters in this novel, are well-developed, dynamic and witty.  Their characters grow through trial and hardship and the author challenges the reader’s spiritual growth from the framework of Pierre and Angelique’s choices to live with integrity and moral strength (or not) throughout the situations they face.

My only criticism- if you can call it that- is that at times this book felt like a sequel to another.  There were moments here and there when it seemed there was a back-story I was missing out on.  When I checked to see if that was the case I learned that this is book #3 in The Michigan Brides Collection, so perhaps I was missing a back-story, although it appears that the previous two books are not necessarily related to this one.  Nonetheless, I’ll be adding Jody Hedlund to my list of great authors to follow and I plan to read her other books.  “Captured by Love” gets my strong recommendation for those who enjoy reading historical romance.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Bethany House Publishers.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 

One thought on ““Captured by Love” by Jody Hedlund: Strong on romance and historicity (and yes, that is a word!)

  1. I loved this book! Being from Michigan, I especially enjoyed the setting, and even found a bit of history in there I wasn’t as familiar with. In response to your comments about the back story, the other MIchigan Brides novels are all standalone. I don’t think there is any crossover between characters (at least that I can recall). They are excellent stories and portray a decent amount of MIchigan history. If you enjoyed Captured by Love, you’d surely enjoy Jody Hedlund’s other novels.

Leave a Reply

