Biblical History Brought to Life

Product Details

It should be obvious, but I’ll point it out anyway: this book is going to appeal to people who like historical Christian fiction.  If you don’t, you’re missing out, but hey- I get it- its not your genre.  That said, this is one of the best novels I’ve read since the last time I said that! 😉 Here’s my review:

This powerful novel delivers an enthralling history of the return of exiled Jews to Jerusalem under the leadership of Ezra.  If you think the Old Testament is boring and the word “enthralling” isn’t one you’d use to describe the OT book of Ezra, than “Keepers of the Covenant” will change your perspective completely.   It terms of fictional enjoyment it’s extremely well written; you will feel you are part of this story.  The characters are so real and completely relatable in their fears, their faith, their doubts and their experiences that they will make this era of Old Testament history come to life for you.  “Keepers of the Covenant” is more than an entertaining novel however.  It is also highly convicting as it draws clear parallels between the Jewish people in exile and Christians today when it comes to issues like faith in the face of unanswered prayer, and cultural assimilation and the danger of God’s people (then and now) becoming indistinguishable from the surrounding culture.  This book has generated a number of thought-provoking, even soul-searching, discussions between my husband and me as we evaluate areas of our life where our faith may have been compromised by our culture – and it’s really not too often I can say that about a novel.  I have not read the first book in the Restoration Chronicles Series, though I plan to now, but I mention this because although this is book 2 in a series, these books do stand alone.  Lynn Austin has an incredible gift for historical biblical fiction and this book is worth your time and your money.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Bethany House Publishers.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

One thought on “Biblical History Brought to Life

Leave a Reply

