Fast-food Reading

Product Details

My review begins with the disclaimer that I don’t usually enjoy short stories because I find that there’s very little emotional or intellectual connection as there’s very rarely enough communicated on the part of the storyteller to create a sense of relationship with the recipient.  I chose to read and review this book because the subject interests me, but keep in mind that my bias against this genre undoubtedly shades my view of this book, which is a compilation of short stories depicting miracles and “heavenly encounters” (i.e., experiences for which there are no plausible, natural explanations).     The goal of this book is to encourage others of faith (or perhaps nudge those who are not believers) by parting the curtain, if you will, for a glimpse of the supernatural here on earth.  The skeptic is sure to remain skeptical, and the believer will likely be reminded of times in his life when he sensed that God was very clearly at work.

This book would be well placed in a waiting room, or somewhere similar, where someone could pick it up and read a story in a few minutes and then go on their way.  People who enjoy a book you can easily put down and come back to a month later (part-time readers) this one’s for you. This is not a compilation that will offer deep, reflective reading.  Think of it like fast-food, not a sit-down dinner.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Bethany House Publishers.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

