Great story, but a little too cliche

Fading Starlight

Kathryn Cushman’s new book “Fading Starlight” started off great with a modern-day, Hollywood fashion – industry setting. The reader is immediately drawn into main character, Lauren Summer’s, devastating career debacle and the challenge she faces of redeeming herself and starting over.  This book holds a touch of mystery, conveys the appeal of new beginnings, offers insight on God’s grace, and depicts the balance between waiting on Him for direction while also taking steps of faith. So, not only is it entertaining, there are also a lot of great truths packed into this novel. However; as the story progressed I found myself feeling a little let down. Most of the characters were simply too cliché , the conflict and outcomes too predictable.  The story progressed at a good pace only to hit warp speed at the end, making it seem disjointed somehow. I enjoyed the fashion history and the modern setting, and I appreciated the depth-and working out- of the moral conflict the author developed through the story line, I just wish the characters and outcomes were slightly less predictable.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

